Good Luck Diesel!

At approximately 2:00 PM on Saturday, Diesel left Muck Creek Kennels to go to his Forever Home.  His new guardians are a nice, local couple who have loads of time to spend with our rambunctious boy.  I’m very happy for Diesel because now he will have a home inside their house and inside their hearts.  He’ll have a full-time human all to himself and he won’t have to share his new humans with any other animals.  His new humans have experience with the German Shepherd breed and they understand that Diesel needs lots of exercise and mental stimulation in order to thrive in his new surroundings.

To be totally honest, I was a little sad to see him go.  My eyes got a bit hot as I watched him looking at me from the back of their SUV as it went down the driveway and out the gate.  Diesel and I had grown very fond of each other over the last 2-1/2 months that he has lived here at MCK.

Later the same evening, Lyn and I were talking about his departure and she wondered out loud if I was the right kind of guy to be doing rescue work because I seem to get so attached to some of the animals.  I thought about it for a minute and it occurred to me that if I wasn’t the kind of person who got attached, I wouldn’t be the right kind of person to help either.

Back when I was building houses for a living, the raw materials showed up on a truck.  The driver pulled the straps off the load and dumped it on the ground and drove away.  Then we cut the pieces to length and nailed them together until we had something that looked like a house.  Now my “raw materials” arrive in animal crates.  They look at me, and then quickly turn their heads in a typical, canine calming-gesture.  Sometimes they are shaking with fear.  Sometimes their distrust is so profound that I am unable to touch them.  The sound of my voice makes them loose control of their bladder.

And the tools are different too.  In cases of extreme fear we are limited to love, patience, and consistency.  Gradually we build trust.  Then we begin to communicate and cooperate.  Every day, you hand this animal a little hunk of your heart and they give you back the thing that makes you human.

Awwww… fer Pete’s sake!! I’m getting all mushy again!!  DANG IT!

Farewell Diesel!  I wish you the best of luck in your new home!  You taught me a lot, my friend, maybe more than I taught you!

Image

Image

Image

Slack Leads!

Jon Borcherding  A.B.I. Certified Dog Trainer  253 442 9625

5 thoughts on “Good Luck Diesel!

  1. awesome my dad has his heart set on a shepherd. He had one years back. BC Before my mom Christine. Mom and dad do not buy dogs they rescue them. SO we need to wait. I love the name diesel. Good Luck Diesel indeed

  2. His is so beautiful and even I will miss him in the short time I got to be with him. Congratulations on rebuilding his trust in humans and finding him a home.

  3. So happy to hear that Diesel is in his forever home. I have been following him for a while and wanted to adopt him myself so much. But based on his bio, he wasn’t a good match for our family. I am so happy for him. Yay Diesel!!

Leave a Reply

