Here We Go Again!

I suffered an enormous personal loss last Friday 12/13/13, when my Dad passed away after a long, painful battle with lung cancer.  I have been unable to write anything the last few days, but rest assured that work continues here at Muck Creek Kennels.  We have been training every day just as we normally do.

I couldn’t continue to keep the dogs here if I thought for a moment that I was unable to properly care for them.  In reality I have spent more time than usual with the kennel dogs.  Their unrelenting cheerfulness and goofy antics have sustained me and helped give me the strength I needed to keep moving through some difficult times.

Image

Over the course of the last week we have been working on recall with Diesel.  Our goal is to have excellent response to the HERE command even in the face of major distractions.  We’ve made some excellent progress!

Jessie, who is here for basic obedience, has also made significant progress in his training.  We are seeing good responses to all his basic obedience commands.  Over the next few days we’ll be raising our criteria and motivating Jessie to show us what he is really capable of in terms of cooperation, focus and response.

Jackson is a young fella who has been through some training here earlier.  I was very pleased to see how he has held on to his previous training and how he is eager to work and learn more stuff.  I know that his owner has plans to breed him with another really nice lab that has been trained here at Muck Creek.  I’m particularly excited to find Jackson to be so tractable and eager to learn.  When the time comes, he and Coco will make some really wonderful puppies together.

Over the last few days I have been rebuilding the doors that connect each kennel to its corresponding outdoor run.  Originally I built the door frames out of wood because that’s what I had lying around.  The dogs quickly showed me the error of my ways as they began to chew on the door frames, reducing my handiwork to a pile of slobbery splinters.

Image

Luckily, my friends David & Cynthia Froembling of Columbia Sheetmetal had a solution in the form of steel door-surrounds.  I finally got those installed over the last couple of days.  Being a professional sheetmetal guy, David would probably have preferred me to use powder coated screws so they weren’t so visible, but I had a box of regular sheetmetal screws that worked just fine.  The dogs don’t seem to mind that it looks a little… well… screwy!

Image

Slack Leads!

2 thoughts on “Here We Go Again!

  1. Sorry to hear about your Dad. You have been in our thoughts and prayers. The kennel looks great! Bugsy wants to come back and stay! He had a blast and misses Bailey!

Leave a Reply

